AForge.NET

:: AForge.NET Framework :: Articles :: Forums ::

Genetic Lib possible minor modifications and GP Question

The forum is to discuss topics from different artificial intelligence areas, like neural networks, genetic algorithms, machine learning, etc.

Genetic Lib possible minor modifications and GP Question

Postby Obi » Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:40 pm

Hi,

This is my 1st post, therefore would like to thank you first for the great work and lib. Can't wait until 2.0 is released.

Maybe I got it wrong (I'm also new to GA and GP), but I'm a bit puzzled by the followings:

1.Population.Selection()
Since the 'SelectionRate' is initially set to '0', this leads to the ApplySelection() method of ISelection to remove all individuals in the Population.
a.Therefore the Selection() method regenerates the population.
b. If the user sets the 'SelectionRate' to the usual 10%, this still leads to the removal of 90% of the population.
c. It seems that new Individuals are introduced to the population (to replace the removed individuals), however, the worst Individual is chosen as ancestor.
Shouldn't selection be based on the fitness of few better individuals.

If the above mentioned items are correct, then the population wouldn't evolve in a ideal way

2. BestChromosome
Probably a good idea to have the possibility to retrieve, not just the best, few better individuals in a population?

Again, these are my initial observations and they are probably not correct (I don't trust my eyes after staring at the screen all night).

3. A quick question on the 'TimeSeriesPrediction' sample. After playing with it for awhile, I still have the impression I'm getting past values (almost in curve fitting way) instead of future values. The question is really twofold:
a. What do I need to change in the sample to perform a prediction of a TimeSeries for say X(T+n), where n= 1,..,N
b. How should I interpret the returned 'solutions' Array? Or where is the predicted value stored?

Cheers,
Obi
Obi