AForge.NET

:: AForge.NET Framework :: Articles :: Forums ::

Video Recording

The forum is to discuss topics related to different areas of image processing and computer vision.

Video Recording

Postby smaeusle » Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:26 pm

Hey my Name is Sascha Maeusling and I am new with C# and the whole Video processing topic.
I have to write a program wich is able to detect Motions from a video and cuts out these parts of a video where no Motion is detected. I have a closer look at the examples but i wasn't able to create an avi writer which is able to to that. I create one and try to record every Lastframe from the camea Object. But i dont know where to add the frame to the avi file. I thought i have to do this in the "camera_NewFrame" Routine. but there i have no acces to the camera object. Can somebody help me with this problem?
smaeusle

edit\ now i found a way to record my video but i have an other issue. Is there a possibility to go back in the video ?
Because if i have found a motion iwant to save some frames before and after a motion has happend. or do i have to save every single frame to do something like that?
smaeusle

Re: Video Recording

Postby andrew.kirillov » Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:58 am

Hello,

smaeusle wrote:I thought i have to do this in the "camera_NewFrame" Routine. but there i have no acces to the camera object.

The NewFrame event is the right place. In the event handler you will get the NewFrameEventArgs, which contains a Frame property - this is a new video frame, which needs to be saved.

smaeusle wrote:Is there a possibility to go back in the video ?

It depends. Let's suppose you have an IP camera, or USB camera. Can you rewind video back in time? :? I don't think so. It could be done for video files ... Anyway this is not something, which is covered by AForge.NET Framework - it relies mostly on video feeds from cameras and sources like this, which you cannot rewind.
With best regards,
Andrew